↓ Opening hours & address
Start
Events
"Flames"

"Flames"

29
.
April
2023
-•
Saturday
-•
19:30
Clock
Book Fair Event
Sold Out

Author Volker Hagedorn will read passages from his book "Flammen. A European Musician's Narrative 1900-1918" (awarded "Book of the Year 2022" by Opernwelt). It is the time of great changes in art and society. The time of such diverse composers as Igor Stravinsky, Arnold Schoenberg, Alban Berg and Gustav Mahler. But the main protagonists of the book are Claude Debussy in Paris and the English composer Ethel Smyth.

Gundula Mantu (violin) and Anja Kleinmichel (piano) bring the protagonists of the time to sound. The read passages illuminate the genesis of the played compositions from the beginning of the 20th century. In addition to little-known musical gems by Claude Debussy and Eric Satie, the program includes piano music by Arnold Schoenberg and also the Violin Sonata by Ethel Smyth (1858-1954). This work was premiered in Leipzig in the winter of 1887/88. In her memoirs, Smyth recalls of the premiere: "that the critics were unanimous in saying that it was without feminine charm and therefore unworthy of a woman - the good old remark that I was to hear again so often." Smyth was the first woman to study composition at the Leipzig Conservatory.

Many musically "known" appears here with other insights in a new light. Musical surprises are also provided. A piano piece with which the impoverished Debussy paid his coal merchant, or even a musical gift from Eric Satie to Debussy's daughter...

Volker Hagedorn, Author
Anja Kleinmichel, piano
Gundula Mantu, violin

Tickets

15,00 € / 10,00 € (reduced)
To the concert
Order ticket

Further events

New with Grieg!
Sold Out
Canceled
06
June
2023
Tuesday
-•
18:00
Clock

"New with Grieg!" - with the composer Karola Obermüller

Cooperation with the Institute for Musicology at the University of Leipzig and the Eisler-Haus Leipzig e.V.
concert
Sold Out
Canceled
15
June
2023
Thursday
-•
19:30
Clock

Grieg and women composers

Grieg Festival I with the Ensemble TastoCorno
concert
Sold Out
Canceled
16
June
2023
Friday
-•
19:00
Clock

Recital with the Grieg Prize winner

Grieg Festival II with the Grieg Prize Winner of the International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition

↓  Öffnungszeiten & Adresse
Start
Events
»Flammen«

»Flammen«

29
.
April
2023
Samstag
19:30
Uhr
Veranstaltung zur Buchmesse
Ausverkauft

Autor Volker Hagedorn wird Passagen aus seinem 2022 bei Rowohlt erschienenen Buch »Flammen. Eine europäische Musikerzählung 1900-1918« lesen (von der Opernwelt als »Buch des Jahres 2022 ausgezeichnet«). Es ist die Zeit großer Veränderungen in Kunst und Gesellschaft. Die Zeit so verschiedenartiger Komponisten wie Igor Stravinsky, Arnold Schönberg, Alban Berg und Gustav Mahler. Hauptakteure des Buches aber sind Claude Debussy in Paris und die englische Komponistin Ethel Smyth.

Gundula Mantu (Violine) und Anja Kleinmichel (Klavier) bringen die Protagonisten der Zeit zum Klingen. Die gelesenen Passagen erhellen die Entstehungsgeschichte der gespielten Kompositionen vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Neben kaum bekannten musikalischen Kleinoden von Claude Debussy und Eric Satie stehen Klaviermusik von Arnold Schönberg und auch die Violinsonate von Ethel Smyth (1858-1954) auf dem Programm. Dieses Werk wurde im Winter 1887/88 in Leipzig uraufgeführt. In ihren Memoiren erinnert sich Smyth an die Uraufführung: »dass die Kritiker einstimmig sagten, es sei ohne weiblichen Charme und daher einer Frau unwürdig – die gute alte Bemerkung, die ich so oft wieder hören sollte«. Smyth war die erste Frau, die am Leipziger Konservatorium Komposition studierte.

Vieles musikalisch »Bekannte« erscheint hier mit anderen Einblicken in neuem Licht. Auch für musikalische Überraschungen ist gesorgt. Ein Klavierstück, mit dem der verarmte Debussy seinen Kohlenhändler bezahlte, oder auch ein musikalisches Geschenk Eric Saties an Debussys Tochter…

Volker Hagedorn, Autor
Anja Kleinmichel, Klavier
Gundula Mantu, Violine

Tickets

15,00 € / 10,00 € (ermäßigt)
Ticket kaufen
Ticket bestellen

Weitere Events

Konzert
Ausverkauft
Abgesagt
19
Mai
2024
Sonntag
14:00
Uhr

Lieder – Ladies – Leipzig. Komponistinnen im Leipzig des 19. Jahrhunderts

Moderiertes Konzert mit dem trio pontes
Gesprächskonzert
Ausverkauft
Abgesagt
21
Mai
2024
Dienstag
18:00
Uhr

«Neues bei Grieg!» – mit dem Hanns-Eisler-Stipendiaten 2024, Ardian Gega

Gespräch und Konzert mit Musik der Gegenwart
Konzert
Ausverkauft
Abgesagt
29
Mai
2024
Mittwoch
19:30
Uhr

In der Nähe - aus der Ferne

Konzert des Sächsischen Musikbunds